Week Seven is Quickly Closing

Not only is this the ending of week seven, I just completed my fifteenth fasting day. I must admit that they are getting easier. The funny thing about tonight’s dinner is that I was full before I finished. Don’t worry, I plan on finishing my dinner pretty soon. My menu today was no different than previous fasting days. I consumed 520 calories today. Seven weeks in, hmmm…

Doing the math, after one year of the 5:2 diet, I will have fasted a total of 3.4 months. That is a significant amount of time and I certainly plan to stick with this well beyond that point, along with exercising Monday through Friday. This is, after all, a lifestyle change and NOT a diet. I need to remove the diet mentality from my thinking and be fully convinced that this is going to be my new way of life.

While getting used to this new way of life, I am noticing things; silly things. For example, while I’m on the elliptical machine at the gym, I’ll look up at the bank of tellys and spot an advertisement to lower cholesterol…by eating something. Here in America, it appears that the best way to a healthier lifestyle is to eat, not fast. I couldn’t help but chuckle.

Alright, enough pattering on. See you all next Tuesday with a weigh-in update.

Cheers

2 thoughts on “Week Seven is Quickly Closing

  1. Thanks for the glimpse into your journey. I started the fast diet lifestyle in April and have seen some weight loss (11lbs.) after plateauing for a couple years after a significant weight loss (over 55 lbs). I love this plan because it really does take away all the ‘guilty’ feelings when I didn’t eat ‘right’. And yes, I agree with you that I can do this for the rest of my life! I don’t have to give up some of my favorite foods and I’m surprising myself by eating sensibly the rest of the week. Because my boyfriend’s on it with me, we try out new recipes and google 5:2 recipes–some good, some not so good. It’s encouraging to see your posts and see some of the same feelings that I have…I just added a third fast day because of a super overindulgence weekend (not doing this EVERY week but I felt like it got me back on track). And I changed my weigh in day to Wednesdays because of some of your same struggles and my mind games. All this to say, you definitely helped me by blogging your struggles. Best wishes for continued success and better health.

    • Hi Kathy,

      Thank you for your kind and encouraging words. When I started this 5:2 journey, I thought that blogging about it would help keep me accountable. Thanks to you, it seems like I’m able to encourage others too. That is an added bonus that thrills me to no end. Also, congratulations on your weight loss. Please keep me posted as to how you’re doing. As for me, I’m smack dab in the middle of my fast day. I’ll be weighing in tomorrow, so I’ve got my fingers crossed that some weight has been shed.

      Cheers,
      Bob

Leave a Reply

