Week Nine Starts Off with a Bang

So where to begin. Let’s say Thursday. A typical fasting day with no surprises and the close of month two for the 5:2 diet. I felt good, although no visible changes in my appearance as of yet. Friday I did extremely well in what I ate, that was until dinner. We went out for some gourmet pizza, which was fantastic by the way. I ate four slices but that wasn’t the over indulgence. That came when we ordered desert. Now I am not usually a sweet eater but I certainly made an exception that night. That being said, I felt that an extra fasting day might be in order, so I chose Saturday.

Saturday’s fasting meal was different than all the others. I began the day sipping my usual two cups of black coffee (10cal), which keeps my hunger at bay until lunch. I then ate a large salad of 4oz baby greens (27), 1T salad dressing (12.5), 13g toasted almonds (75), 1/4C herbed feta cheese (70), topped with 56g drained, canned tuna fish (50). That was all I was planning on eating but I realized that I was still far below my target of 500-600 calories. To bring up that number, I ate a Dannon Light & Fit 150g yoghurt (80) and the rest of the tuna 49g (44) mixed in 2tsp mayo (83). I finished the extra fasting day still low with 451.5 calories.

The next fasting day was Monday and it went very well. This menu also deviated from my normal eating. It began with the standard 2C black coffee (10) but I decided to protein it up with an omelet around 1:00pm. This was made with 2oz sauteed smoked pork (130) and yes, I smoke it myself, 2 eggs (150) mixed with 2T herbed feta (35). Fantastic tasting and kept me quite satisfied all day. Dinner came around 6:00pm for a salad with grilled chicken breast sliced on top. It consisted of 3oz mixed baby greens (20cal), 1T salad dressing (12.5), 1/4C herbed feta (70), 3oz orange bell pepper slices (40) and 4oz chicken breast (120) for a grand total of 588 calories.

Now onto the big news. The reason I wait until Tuesday to blog instead of Monday is because I made Tuesday my weigh-in day. This morning, after I got home from my workout, I weighed myself. I’m getting excited because I weighed 138.9kg (that’s 306.2lbs). I’ve lost 7.7kg in total. My short term goal is to get below 136, which thanks to the 5:2 diet, seems very attainable. If all continues well, I should hit this goal by mid July. I just need to keep calm and carry on.

Cheers

P.S. If you are interested, here is the link to Dr. Mosley’s 5:2 web site. I am finding it well worth the time spent.

Leave a Reply

