What’s This, Another Blog Entry Already?

I know that it is neither Tuesday nor Thursday, but I’ve got something to share. I feel the need to add a third fasting day to my regimen. The reason is simple and two-fold. One, I’d like to lose weight a bit quicker than I already am and two, I would like to gain more control over my eating habits. It’s not like I’m out of control on my feed days, however, I generally eat more than I ought. My biggest problem comes in the evening. I am ostensibly self controlled during the day but after the sun sets, I become ravenous. I’ve tried having some herbal tea and at times, a cup of broth but nothing hits the spot like a slice of toast with peanut butter and jelly. I’m not talking about a thinly spread layer of peanut butter either, I’m talking about slathering it on like frosting on a cake. Peanut butter, for me, is a comfort food. Some may have a glass of red wine when under duress, I partake with a jar and a spoon. It’s such an addiction, I have gone cold turkey and have refused to buy any from the market for the past two weeks. This is the culprit. Ahhh, even now I am having cravings.

Image

I mean it’s better than eating that hydrogenated garbage but still, 210 calories for 2T! That’s easy haha. Ok, now I’m rambling.

Back to it. For breakfast (before I committed to fasting), I ate a fried egg (75) with a slice of plain low-cal toast (45). I ate this before going to exercise and by lunch I was a might peckish, so for lunch I ate a large stalk of celery (10). I can’t begin to tell you how badly that piece of veg needed peanut butter but I digress. When dinnertime rolled around, I wasn’t all too hungry but I had a meal fit for a king. I had no salad, as is my usual fare, instead I ate 80g of steamed broccoli (24), 200g grilled zucchini (30), 200g butternut squash (80) and 3oz grilled chicken breast (92). I snapped some pics along the way, if you care.

Here is my chicken and zucchini on the grill.

zucchini&chicken

This is how I cook the butternut squash. I peal the squash, cut it into small chunks, place them into a microwavable glass, cover it with film, and cook for 5-10 minutes, depending upon the amount of squash.

cooking the butternut

Finally, here is my dinner. It consists of only 226 calories, and words can’t describe how delicious it was. Also, I am amazed at how tasty all these veggies are without having a drop of butter upon them.

DinnerFitForaKing

My entire day was 356 calories.

Thanks for popping by. I hope I’ve inspired some of you to try different foods while on your fast day. I’ll see you again on Tuesday for my weigh in results.

Cheers

One thought on “What’s This, Another Blog Entry Already?

Leave a Reply

