Back From Holiday – Fat and Sassy

It was a rough two weeks but somebody had to do it. Day one: we arrived in Boston for a day of sight-seeing. Walked the Freedom Trail and saw quite a bit. It was loads of fun. Then we set sail for the sunny Caribbean; St. Thomas, Antigua, Barbados, Curaçao, Aruba, and Cozumel. The weather was divine, the snorkeling was exquisite, and the food was fantastic (as well as never-ending). We enjoyed champagne catamarans, sight-seeing and cave explorations. All in all, I would say the trip went well.

Here are a couple pictures snapped from the ship, just before we left St. Thomas.

Charlotte Amalie St. Thomas from the ship

Charlotte Amalie St. Thomas from the ship

View of Charlotte Amalie St. Thomas from the ship

View of Charlotte Amalie St. Thomas from the ship

The rum flowed freely and the breeze blew gently. Alas, all good things must come to an end. While being a wonderful trip, it is good to be back home, regardless of the grey, rainy, and dreary days. I did, however, manage one fasting day while afloat on that giant all-you-can-eat buffet. More than that, I could not do. I even brought along my exercise kit, which lay dormant for two weeks solid. Oh well, good intentions and all that. I arrived back home on Friday night and throughout the entire weekend didn’t have much of an appetite. If you’ve ever been on a cruise, you’ll know what I’m talking about; if not, I’ll try to explain. You know those days when you are not necessarily hungry but you still walk to the fridge, open it up and stare into the abyss? Seeing nothing that strikes your fancy, you walk to the pantry, open the door and gaze at the cans/boxes/bags of food stuff, just wishing there was a steaming hot plate of something good to eat, then you close the door and repeat the process. Well, imagine opening up the fridge and there are four different types of sandwiches there, ready made and just for you. Then you walk to the pantry and there are soups and breads waiting; you walk back to the fridge and set before you are shelves of fresh cut fruit and a plethora of differing desserts. Then you go to the pantry, open the door and all you see before you are steaming savory pans of food from such a diverse cultural background that you desire a sample from each; then you go back to the fridge … You get the picture. So you can see why I haven’t had much of an appetite this past weekend. Along came Monday; the first fasting day back into reality. I didn’t know what to expect.

While I was a bit pensive in how I would react to denying myself food, I must say that it went swimmingly. In fact, aside from a cup of black coffee (5cal), I felt the urge to consume nothing until dinner. For some reason, I am feeling compelled to simply partake of salads on my fasting days; at least for the time being. Last night I ate 4oz of mixed baby greens (27cal) tossed with 2T salad dressing (25cal) and topped with 3oz sliced red bell peppers (26cal), 4 cooked ounces grilled chicken breast (198cal), and 2oz crumbled feta cheese (120cal). Dinner was quite filling and the days total was 401 kcal.

After waking this morning, I knew the inevitable was looming ahead; that’s right, the SCALE. It was time to reconcile the excess eating combined with the absence of exercise. Before I weighed myself, I gathered up my strength and jumped back into my exercise routine. Sitting here pondering this, I am amazed. I can go all year without snorkeling in the warm Caribbean sea and lounging in the sun, and be able to begin it again with ease but two weeks without exercise, good Lord!! It’s as though I haven’t gotten to the gym in years! I was sweating and out of breath in no time. I did finish my routine but it was not without complaint. After coming home and stripping down, I could put it off no longer.  I was 137kg even; I had gained 2.7 kilos (almost 6 pounds). So here I am with a new starting point and back to the weight I was in September. The hopes that I would see 113 by the spring is gone but it is what it is. I’m hoping that this next bit of weight loss will propel me quickly through the 290’s and I’ll drop seven or eight kilos soon. I must say that it could have been worse and the exciting thing about this 5:2 WOL (way of life) is that you’re right back to it.

Thank you all for the encouraging comments and emails. I appreciate you taking time to read about me and my foibles.

Cheers

5 thoughts on “Back From Holiday – Fat and Sassy

  1. Glad to see you are back. I must have missed where you were taking off for a couple weeks and I have wondered if you were not on the program anymore. So glad that you are! Love reading your blog and recognizing some of the same struggles. Keep at it! You are an inspiration to many!!

    • Thank you, Kathy. It is good to be back, at least as far as controlling the amount of food I am shoving into my face. Also, thank you for the kind words. The reasons I began this blog was 1) to be accountable to this 5:2 lifestyle, and 2) to be able to encourage anyone doing 5:2 who would happen to stumble upon these ramblings. It appears that those goals are being met. Who knew?

  2. I bet a lot of those 6 pounds is bloat and should be gone pretty quick.
    Glad to hear you had a great vacation and I am absolutely astounded that you fasted on a cruise ship! That’s some serious willpower.

  3. Hi Bobby,
    I just love reading your blog, I’m right there with you! It’s great that you had a break and I really believe that you could easily get back to where you were in no time! I think a break does you good, it stops you always feeling that you are missing out.
    Your photos gave me the feeling that you were about to enjoy the whole experience, and I’m with BlushandBarbells, you did well to do a fasting day while you were away!
    Thanks for taking the time to share your journey in such an entertaining way!
    Regards
    Liz

  4. Welcome back. I found myself checking weekly for when you were going to post. so good to see you are back ready to continue to tell us of your weight loss journey

    The pics are amazing. You must have taken hundreds of pictures hey. What was the highlight of the trip?

    For a moment after reading your post title I thought i was going to read that you had gained 10kg or something.. so no.. your doing just fine and you should feel no guilt. Take it easy and have some free time still with eating as you clearly do enjoy good food and with 5:2 you can certainly do that and still loose.

Leave a Reply

